Dorian Gray

The human of the future will be freed from humanity.

co-production with Ulrike Quade Company

Imagine that through modern technology we no longer feel pain, we no longer grow old and ugly and we no longer die. Will machines then have defeated humans? In a macaber fairytale, Ulrike Quade and Romain Bischoff take a close look at the engineered human. Their inspiration is Oscar Wilde’s novel: ‘The Picture of Dorian Gray’.

After a diabolical experiment, Dorian Gray becomes immortal by changing place with his portrait. As the years go by he remains a perfect, young god, while his image on the painting deteriorates. What initially appears to be a hedonistic celebration, ends up a nightmare.

In this performance on the borders between opera, visual theatre and technology, Dorian Gray is no nineteenth-century dandy. Together with librettist Marcel Roijaards and composter Leonard Evers, Quade and Bischoff recreate him as a contemporary perfectionist: immaculate and immortal thanks to modern technology. After this new evolutionary step, the question we’re left with is this: What humanity remains after we are freed from decay and death is no longer inevitable?

You use a glass mirror to see your face; you use works of art to see your soul. — George Bernard Shaw

Dorian Gray premieres in October 2018 in Theater Bellevue, Amsterdam.

concept Ulrike Quade en Romain Bischoff | regie Ulrike Quade | muzikale dramaturgie Romain Bischoff | libretto Marcel Roijaards | compositie Leonard Evers en Akim Moiseenkov | muziek, zang en spel Job Hubatka, Maarten Vinkenoog, André Lourenço en Kadri Tegelmann | dramaturgie Thomas Lamers | kostuums Marlou Breuls | licht- & decorontwerp Floriaan Ganzevoort | creative coding Robert Liebner | poppenbouw Matt Jackson | assistent poppenbouw Pluck Venema | dramaturgie Thomas Lamers | regie-assistentie Zarah Bracht | poppencoaching Suze van Miltenburg | photography Anouk van Kalmthout


Auke Hamers

Past performances

Past performances

Past performances

Past performances

Past performances

Past performances

Past performances

Past performances

Past performances

Past performances

Past performances

Past performances

Past performances

Past performances

Past performances

Past performances

Past performances

Past performances

Past performances

Past performances

  • Thursday 3 January 2019 – 20:00CC MechelenMechelen
  • Wednesday 19 December 2018 – 20:00De Goudse SchouwburgGouda
  • Tuesday 18 December 2018 – 20:30Stadsschouwburg UtrechtUtrecht
  • Saturday 15 December 2018 – 20:30Corrosia Theater, Expo & FilmAlmere
  • Thursday 13 December 2018 – 20:00Korzo TheaterDen Haag
  • Saturday 8 December 2018 – 20:00ECI CultuurfabriekRoermond
  • Wednesday 28 November 2018 – 20:30De ToneelschuurHaarlem
  • Thursday 22 November 2018 – 20:30De MeervaartAmsterdam
  • Wednesday 21 November 2018 – 20:30Theaters TilburgTilburg
  • Thursday 15 November 2018 – 20:30Chassé TheaterBreda
  • Thursday 8 November 2018 – 20:00CC HasseltHasselt, België
  • Saturday 3 November 2018 – 20:15CoolHeerhugowaard
  • Friday 2 November 2018 – 20:30Natlab by Plaza FuturaEindhoven
  • Thursday 1 November 2018 – 20:30De Groene EngelOss
  • Wednesday 31 October 2018 – 20:30Theater Ins BlauLeiden
  • Tuesday 30 October 2018 – 20:30Parkstad Limburg TheatersHeerlen
  • Saturday 27 October 2018 – 20:30WilminktheaterEnschede
  • Tuesday 23 October 2018 – 20:15Theater SpeelhuisHelmond
  • Wednesday 17 October 2018 – 20:30Theater Bellevue – PremièreAmsterdam
  • Tuesday 16 October 2018 – 20:30Theater Bellevue – Try-outAmsterdam