Stimmung I: Stockhausen

Contemporary madrigals

“The six singers of Silbersee gave an intensely concentrated performance of this seldom presented piece.” and “Recollection for ChoHee by the Korean composer Seung-Won Oh, a ritual work with complex chords, tamtams, bells and temple scales, beautifully joint with the previous pieces.” Volkskrant ★★★★

“Stimmung is an astonishing example of Stockhausen’s endless sound fantasy, especially when you remind yourself that the 70-minute piece consists of only one tone (a b flat). The different colors of sound that the composition displays, is created by a lively game with vowels and overtones. The six singers of Silbersee made Stimmung at the main hall of the Muziekgebouw aan ‘t IJ a magical experience.” Parool

“... a very concentrated performance, where nothing distracts you from the almost unearthly singing” Theaterkrant ★★★★

In 2018 Silbersee launched the Stimmung series: an annual concert program that revolves around the human voice: her beauty, her endless possibilities and above all her ability to move the soul. In the Stimmung series contemporary madrigals are presented. Centuries ago the human voice was celebrated in all its glory in the madrigals of Palestrina, Gesualdo and Monteverdi. Today, Silbersee presents a series of contemporary madrigals to honor the human voice again.

Partners of Stimmung: Muziekgebouw aan ’t IJ (Amsterdam), Gaudeamus and November Music.

Stimmung I
At the first edition (Stimmung I) the masterpiece Stimmung by Karlheinz Stockhausen was the central composition. This fascinating, minimalistic composition can be described as a layered meditative ‘sound prayer’ in which the listener can slowly discover the souls of the voices. Next to the Stimmung piece, the first edition of the concert was extended with recent works of Dutch composer Anthony Fiumara and the Korean Seung-Won Oh. As in Stimmung, these two compositions revolve around the layered combination of voices.

Stimmung I
Stimmung (1968) – Karlheinz Stockhausen Optional (after intermission):
Graduales 1 & 2 (2007) – Anthony Fiumara
Recollection for ChoHee (2006) – Seung-Won Oh

Stimmung I premiered at Muziekgebouw aan ‘t IJ (Amsterdam) on 8 March 2018 and can still be seen at Gaudeamus Festival (Utrecht, 8 September 2018) and November Music (Den Bosch, 8 November 2018).

Stimmung II

In the second edition of Stimmung Das atmende Klarsein by Luigi Nono forms the central work of the evening. This seldom performed masterpiece voices the tension between the temporary and the eternal. What remains of the individual when faced with the infinite universe or the timelessness of death? Nono’s composition will be accompanied by two brand new works. The first is by the Dutch Arnold Marinissen (1966), the second by the Italian Giuliano Bracci (1980). Marinissen’s work contemplates breathing, nature and the passing of time. Bracci presents a work about man in the endless universe.

Stimmung II
Das atmende Klarsein – Luigi Nono
New composition (world premiere) – Arnold Marinissen
New composition (world premiere) – Giuliano Bracci

Stimmung II will premiere at Muziekgebouw aan ‘t IJ (Amsterdam) on 28 March 2019.